Not a life changer - but it's a time saver. Octoprint, and about $100 for Pi 3B+ and 7 inch screen

Notifications
Clear all

Not a life changer - but it's a time saver. Octoprint, and about $100 for Pi 3B+ and 7 inch screen  

RSS
Dan Rogers
(@dan-rogers)
Noble Member

The last life-changing moment before my Granddaughter was born ... TR-1000 Gold (boaters, you know, you know...).  I finally plunged into the Raspberry Pi world and built up a little assistant that I call Igor - but those of you running OctoPrint already know the gains you get.

I'm guessing, two days in, I am only beginning to learn what I can do easier.  I've got to get the camera going.  maybe I'll make a Python video AI that detects a failed print and aborts or pauses a blob in progress.    Since it runs Python, I surely can do that.  Anybody got a trained model already?

]

Posted : 15/03/2021 12:20 am
Lize
 Lize
(@lize)
Estimable Member
RE: Not a life changer - but it's a time saver. Octoprint, and about $100 for Pi 3B+ and 7 inch screen

I've got the same, its so much better as my computer isn't near the printer.  I'm not as advanced as creating my own Igor, tried a few options but settled on OctoDash, its great to start/restart prints (with thumbnails plug-in) and I really like being able to move the axis and set temperatures without scrolling through the LCD menu.  You can define buttons to run G-Code which I tried but they haven't been as handy as I thought they might be.

This post was modified 3 years ago by Lize
Posted : 15/03/2021 1:54 am
bobstro
(@bobstro)
Illustrious Member
RE: Not a life changer - but it's a time saver. Octoprint, and about $100 for Pi 3B+ and 7 inch screen

Definitely check out the Cancel Objects plugin if you regularly print multiple parts in a single print. If one part is failing, you can cancel it and save the rest of the print.

It's also nice to flash new firmware from Octoprint without dragging a computer over to the printer.