Notifiche
Cancella tutti

Print failing and heating up to 290 C with PLA  

RSS
Eric
 Eric
(@eric-16)
Print failing and heating up to 290 C with PLA

I am new to 3D printing, but I have had decent luck so far with most of my prints. However, now I am trying to print this (with a .15mm layer height, 20% infill, and a brim):

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3722541

It has failed several times in similar ways. When I watch it at the beginning of the print, everything seems to be going ok. The nozzle is heating up to 210 or 215 C (I can't remember which). But after a couple of hours, the smoke detector in my enclosure goes off. When I check on it, there are some issues in the print, and the extruder is just sitting there. The nozzle says it is at 290 C (and it is targeting 290 C - the display reads 290/290).

I can't understand why it would ever try to get up to 290 C. The only temperature settings I see in Prusa Slicer are set as follows:

Nozzle:

• First layer: 215 C
  • Other layers: 210 C

Bed:

• First layer: 60 C
  • Other layers: 60 C

My MINI+ is up to date with FW, 4.3.4, and I'm using Prusa Slicer 2.4.0. Any ideas?

Postato : 23/01/2022 2:28 am
Eric
 Eric
(@eric-16)
Topic starter answered:
RE: Print failing and heating up to 290 C with PLA

I think it's corrupted G-Code. Every time I generate g-code, I save it to a folder on my computer, and then I copy that file over to my USB stick. I just compared the two files, which should have been identical, but they aren't.

There are 6,305 differences between the two files (the files have around 650k lines). The first line that has a difference appears on line 142,114. The original file on my computer has:

G1 X100.759 Y86.775 E.01906

And the file on my USB stick has:

G0 X100.759 Y(6/775 E.01906

Based on other reports of the USB stick that shipped with the Prusa MINI being poor quality, I'm going to switch to a new USB drive.