Clear all

Marlin command M109 S160 not working correctly  

Page 1 / 3
  RSS
JacktheRipper
(@jacktheripper)
Trusted Member
Marlin command M109 S160 not working correctly

I'm doing a custom Start G-code, and according to the Marlin reference ( http://marlinfw.org/docs/gcode/M109.html ) the command

M109 S160

is supposed to wait for the temperature to reach 160 if heating, but not wait if cooling. But my mk3S waits for both heating and cooling. So I want to accomplish this with an if statement, but I don't know the lexicon to obtain and use the current nozzle temperature in the following proposed code:

{if (current nozzle temperature) < 160} M109 R160 {endif}

I'm new at G-code, so I need a specific example to try.

...there are only 10 kinds of people in this world--those who know binary and those who don't...

Posted : 20/08/2019 12:54 pm
bobstro
(@bobstro)
Illustrious Member
RE: Marlin command M109 S160 not working correctly
Posted by: jack

[...]

{if (current nozzle temperature) < 160} M109 R160 {endif}

I'm new at G-code, so I need a specific example to try.

I have some bad news. Despite the name "gcode", the files sent to the printer contain nothing but commands. There is no real-time feedback from the printer to any sort of interpreter to make conditional choices. All of the logic (such as it is) supported in the slicer is used to control what gcode commands the slicer inserts into the print file. As such, it can know about things like nozzle sizes, layer heights and current layer, but it has no way of knowing (or doing anything with) the temperatures at print time.

The printer itself is profoundly dumb when it comes to print-time logic. There are some safety and monitoring functions in the printer firmware that act based on sensors, but none of those are exposed to the gcode we generate, at least not in any sort of documented way.