Notifications
Clear all

M600 Tool Change - Causing Color Bleeding after swapping filaments  

RSS
treyhebert
(@treyhebert)
M600 Tool Change - Causing Color Bleeding after swapping filaments

Hello All,

Good evening, I hope everyone is well. I have been using my Mini+ for a couple of months now and finding success with manual color changes, set on the slider after slicing an object. I have mainly  been printing  key chains for businesses. I am now having to try a different method as I am calibrating  my filaments, I am finding that most of them have different extrusion multipliers. I have tried to print the attached object with a white tag base (1.09 EM), Light Blue layer (1.09 EM) and finishing off with Dark Blue (1.05 EM). The normal color change seems to only keep the EM of the selected filament at time of  slicing in PrusaSlicer, which is leading to some surface finish issues if my higher layers have a different EM than the filament chosen in slicer.

I have setup the Mini+ with 3 extruders and entered in the tool change on the slider after slicing  the object, but now after changing "extruders (color swap)", the print head touches down on the last spot of the previous layer - rather than touching down on where my new color is going to go. This is causing a dot of dark blue filament to be placed on the letter N, but I only want my top layers to be in dark blue (GAS) text.

The printer is also requesting an  M600 tool change upon the initial purge line at the bottom of the print bed, which is confusing as well.

Also - the forum is not allowing me to attach a 3mf file of my key tag? 

Thank You

Best Answer by FoxRun3D:

To avoid the initial color swap, change the Tool Change G-Code in Printer Settings>Custom G-code to

{if layer_num >= 0}
G0 X0 Y0
M600 ; change to filament for extruder {next_extruder + 1}
{endif}

To attach a 3mf file, for reasonsonly known to the Great Joe, the file has to be zip-compressed before you can upload it.